The Club Logo

The Kootenay Mountaineering Club

A world of adventure in our own backyard

photo by

Do you know of a link that should be included here? Please send it to the website manager

Safety

Tick safety and removalhttp://www.kootenaymountaineeringclub.ca/mountain-info/TickRemoval.pdf

Clubs

The Alpine Club of Canadahttp://www.alpineclubofcanada.ca/
Canadian Geographical Societyhttp://www.canadiangeographic.ca/
Friends of West Kootenay Parkshttp://fwkp.kics.bc.ca
Friends of the Rossland Rangehttp://www.rosslandrange.org/
Kootenay Climbing Associationhttp://kootenayclimbing.com/
The Association of West Kootenay Rock Climbershttp://tawkroc.org/
Climbers Access Society of BChttp://www.access-society.ca/
Federation of Mountain Clubs of BChttp://www.mountainclubs.org/
The Association of Bow Valley Rock Climbershttp://www.tabvar.org/

General Information Sites

BC Parks - Official BC Parks website.http://www.env.gov.bc.ca/bcparks/
Avalanche Canada Mountain Weather Forecasthttp://www.avalanche.ca/weather
Mountain Conditions Report: current conditions from Canadian Mountain Guides.http://www.acmg.ca/mcr/default.asp
Mountain Safety in Canada's National Parkshttp://www.pc.gc.ca/eng/pn-np/mtn/securiteenmontagne-mountainsafety/index.aspx
Earth Sciences Tools and Applications, Natural Resources Canadahttp://www.nrcan.gc.ca/earth-sciences/resources/tools-applications/10790

Outdoor Publications

ACC NewsNet weekly email bulletin. (email subscription)http://www.alpineclubofcanada.ca/news/newsnet.html
ACC NewsNet archiveshttp://www.alpineclubofcanada.ca/newsnet/archives.html
Gripped - Canada's Climbing Magazinehttp://gripped.com/
Arc'teryx Lithographicahttp://lithographica.arcteryx.com/
Canadian Geographical Societyhttp://www.canadiangeographic.ca/

Hiking/Backcountry Trail Sites

Trails in Timehttp://trailsintime.org/
The Canadian Mountain Encylopediahttp://www.bivouac.com/
Kootenay Columbia Trails Societyhttp://www.rosslandtrails.ca/cms/index.php
Friends of Parks and Trails Castlegarhttp://www.friendsoftrails.org/pages/CFPT_Home.html
Christina Lake Trails Guidehttp://www.christinalake.com/visitors/trails/index.php?expanddiv=trail
Grand Forks Community Trailshttp://gftrails.ca/
TrailPeakhttp://www.trailpeak.com/
Trails BChttp://www.trailsbc.ca/

Winter Information Sites

Avalanche Canadahttp://www.avalanche.ca/
Utah Avalanche Centrehttp://utahavalanchecenter.org/
US Forest Service Avalanche Education Sitehttp://www.fsavalanche.com/Default.aspx
Applied Snow and Avalanche Research Centre at the University of Calgaryhttp://www.ucalgary.ca/asarc/
International Snow Science Workshophttp://www.issw.info/
Snow Safety - The Human Factor - Powder Magazinehttp://www.powder.com/human-factor/index.php?chapter=1
Backcountry Skiing Tips & Tricks - Backcountry Skiing Canadahttp://backcountryskiingcanada.com/index.php?p=page&page_id=Backcountry_skiing_Tips_and_Tricks_Videos

Mountain Guides and Backcountry Lodges

Backcountry Lodges of British Columbia Associationhttp://www.backcountrylodgesofbc.com
Huts of the Alpine Club of Canadahttp://www.alpineclubofcanada.ca/facility/view-all-huts/
North Valley Hutshttp://www.northvalleyhuts.ca/
Association of Canadian Mountain Guideshttp://www.acmg.ca/
Mountain Sense - ACMG certified mountain guide, Shaun King.http://www.mountainsense.ca/index.html
Summit Mountain Guides - ACMG certified mountain guide, David Lussier.http://summitmountainguides.com/
Peak Freak Expeditionshttp://www.peakfreaks.com/

All Things Climbing

Kootenay Climbing Association: CUBE Climbing Gymhttp://cubeclimbing.com
Selkirk College Bouldering Cave - in Castlegarhttp://selkirk.ca/athletics/facilities/
Skaha Rock Climbing Betahttp://www.skaha.org/
British Columbia Climbing - Kootenay Regionhttp://bcclimbing.com/areas?region=5
Rockclimbing.com : Routes : Kootenayhttp://www.rockclimbing.com/routes/North_America/Canada/British_Columbia/Kootenays/